The Welcoming Standard

At the heart of the Welcoming Communities initiative is a standard or benchmark for what a successful welcoming community should look like. The communities, councils, and agencies involved in Welcoming Communities developed the standard together.


For more information about the standard, visit Immigration New Zealand.


The eight elements of the standard are:

1. Inclusive Leadership

2. Welcoming            Communications

3. Equitable Access

4. Connected & Inclusive Communities

5. Economic Development, Business & Employment

6. Civic Engagement

& Participation 

7. Welcoming
Public Spaces  

8. Culture & Identity  

Useful Links

Ashburton District Council

5 Baring Square West

7700 Ashburton

Welcoming Communities New Zealand is a government initiative led by the Ministry of Business, Innovation and Employment, in partnership with the Department of Internal Affairs (including the Office of Ethnic Communities) and the New Zealand Human Rights Commission.

  • Facebook - Black Circle